Don’t Ignore the Elephant: How to be Happy NOT Ranking on Page 1 of Google

Zena Ryder
13 min readSep 11, 2018

Wouldn’t it be fantastic if every worthwhile business could rank on page 1 of Google? But the simple fact is that many (most?) of us can’t. Or, at least, we can’t rank for search terms that anybody will use more than once in a pink polka dotted blue moon.

I am no expert on SEO, SERP, TWERK, and all the rest of it. You can easily find experts (and even more who claim to be experts) on those topics. So I welcome you to approach my opinion with skepticism, and tell me in the comments why I’m wrong.

Here’s how I see the lay of the land when it comes to ranking highly on Google:

  • If your business is big, you have a good chance of ranking.
  • If your market is local, you have a good chance of ranking.
  • If your business is unique (or almost unique) in a way that’s relevant to Google, you have a good chance of ranking.
  • But if you’re small, your market is not local, and you’re not close to unique in a relevant way, then I suspect your chances are slim.
Colossus of Ramesses II at Luxor Temple by Than217 on Wikimedia.

--

--