I Learned How to Store Information and Ideas from ‘Tiago Forte’

Lite
2 min readDec 17, 2023

--

Building a Second Brain is a highly acclaimed book in the self-improvement niche, written by the productivity guru, Tiago Forte. He introduces the concept of a “second brain,” a digital repository that captures and stores valuable information, ideas, and knowledge.

We organize our digital places according to where they came from; just like we did at school. According to Forte, instead of organizing by where they came from (like we did at school 🏫), we should organize them by actionability, using the idea of Projects, Areas, Resources, and Archives.

Using the above with my note-taking app of choice Obsidian, I’ve been capturing every piece of digital information, like a video or an article that resonates 📳 with me. I only do is distil this information into its core, and include a link to the original article, while keeping everything that resonates with me. This data sits in my Second Brain, acting as fodder for my future ideas and projects, while, more importantly, it knows what I know, and remembers what I don’t. 😌 😌

So, if there is one takeaway from this post, it’s: Make your Second Brain, capture every piece of knowledge that you think is worth, and take notes on the way. To learn how to do so, go to 👉 this post by Tiago Forte, watch this fantastic summary by Ali Abdaal, or maybe just buy this book, Whatever your journey is, take notes.

➡️ Next Week: 😑 Stoic for a Month

Thanks for reading Zen Musings! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

🕛 Quote of the Week

“Be regular and orderly in your life so that you may be violent and original in your work.” -Gustav Flaubert

--

--

Lite

Writer | Life | Productivity | Tech | Books See more of my journey by clicking the follow button.