I Tried Stoicism for a Week. Here’s What Happened

Lite
2 min readDec 17, 2023

--

Stoicism is a school of philosophy that practices certain virtues to live good, well-flourished life. One has to practice joy, good intent and caution. And for the last week, I’ve been trying to be Stoic.

  • Day One: Needless to say, I didn’t fare as easily as I thought I would have. I cut back on the amount of YouTube videos and Reels that I had watched, and I tried to do things I loved. One hour later, I was consuming it all over again. I did however, realise the amount of procrastination I was doing, which was not that great.
  • Day Three: One of the challenges of being Stoic is the environment. It’s full of things that cause us worry, stress and anger. Once I realised this, I made a conscious effort to be more calm, and not get us irritated I would’ve.
  • Day Six: Day Six was the hardest of them all. There was an intense anger crushing me, and despite my best, I let it out. I quickly did realise this anger, and I stopped almost immediately and (due to a trick) I noticed the more happier, smaller moments.

Stoicism is hard. I knew from the start it was gonna be impossible to be Stoic within 7 days, and it was. But the minuscule improvement I’ve had is noticeable and it’s only gonna get better. So, if you wanna change yourself, now’s your time to do it.

➡️ Next Week: Storyworthy Journalism

🕧 Quote of the Week

“You have power over your mind — not outside events. Realise this, and you will find strength.” -Marcus Aurelius

--

--

Lite

Self-Improvement | Tech | Pop-Culture | ✨ Follow For Posts From A Chill Dude