Why do you need to play Farm Frenzy?

Oleksandr Klymenko
5 min readJul 30, 2022

--

Recently, I passed the Farm Frenzy PC video game. This is a game from my childhood and there were few games that I could play. Farm Frenzy is one of them. Playing this game again made me feel nostalgic and I recalled good memories.

I am going to highlight some game mechanics. Believe me, sometimes it is really unique and … astonishing. I used to play Farm Frenzy in Russian and to better dive into my memories I selected this language. But the game is localized to other languages as well.

The main screen of game.
The main menu of the game.

So I passed this game on 100%. All missions suggested by the game were passed with gold medals. Of course, I could have passed level with silver or even bronze medals, but I am not that child who played this game about 10 years ago. Now I can cope with all challenges the game can suggest.

Each mission has a goal, e.g., collecting 10 eggs, and a time limit. If you are done with the goal on time, you will get a gold medal. In case you are delayed, you can complete the level only with a silver or bronze medal.

Moreover, some mission is suggested to be passed with a gold medal only if you find a way how to do it. And if you want to go through an exciting game experience, you must try to complete the level only with gold medals. Because almost all missions can be finished with silver/bronze medals. But if you want to get a gold one, sometimes, you need to figure out a hidden approach to how to deal with the level. And there is the juiciest gameplay.

Everything is bought.

Also, completing the level with a gold medal brings you more stars that you can spend on different stuff in the shop. Some stuff relates to buildings and some missions require certain buildings to be started. Other stuff is not obligatory and you can buy it to make your gameplay more comfortable. As for me, only bear cages should be bought there since they are very useful.

All awards are unlocked.

The second main part of the game is the collecting of awards. It is so-called accomplishments that you can achieve during the game. E.g. award for buying 100 animals and so on. And some of them are so tricky that I want to share with you the best ways to get them.

The first one is to collect one million money during the mission. It seems not so tricky as I warned, but I will give you a small hint.

The most boring award.

The fact is that collecting 1kk money is a long process. You should select the mission that I marked on the screenshot below unless you want to spend too much time on this award. It is near the last house on the street.

The next tricky award is to hold 7 bears simultaneously on your farm. The bears shouldn’t be placed in your depot. All of them should roam on your farm.

It requires some of your patience.

Terrible truth is that you need to sacrifice your animals to get this award. I found the most suitable mission for getting this award since this mission spawns a lot of bears itself.

Another tricky award is for completing a mission without clicking on products and raw materials produced by animals and buildings.

The most annoying award.

You aren’t allowed to pick bears into your storage too, but you still can catch them in the cages. So, the MVP of this challenge is a cat! Cat makes you relax and make all work for you. You have to just protect it against the bears. I spent a lot of time searching for a mission where it can be done. And the easiest mission is marked on the screenshot below.

And the last one which in my opinion is a tricky award is filling all shelves.

This made me use google to get it.

I couldn’t understand for a long time what shelves I should fully fill when I figured out that it is about the shelves of the storage during the mission. The preferable mission to achieve this award is the same where you saved one million money.

As I said before, the game has unique mechanics, and one of them is the ability to sell your animals. Although, the price of animals is halved it is still a useful option. For example, you can decrease your efforts on multitasking if you have too many animals and don’t have enough time to pick all products and materials. Also, it is required for some missions to sell animals if you want to get a gold medal.

Don’t get this cow to cry.

That is all I wanted to share with you about this amazing game. The Farm Frenzy used to be a game on office PCs like Zuma and Luxor. And now, after more than 10 years, the game can still make me fun and I did enjoy it!

Thanks and don’t let your animals be hungry!

--

--

Oleksandr Klymenko

I'm Lead Software Engineer with Flutter as a domain technology. Working on creating mobile solutions for diabetics. So far, enjoying my way to the FAANG.