Leading From the Front: My Transformational Journey in the Amal Fellowship

Zeshan Ahmad
4 min readOct 20, 2023

--

Introduction

Participating in the Amal Fellowship has been an enriching and transformative experience for me. Among the countless valuable lessons and unforgettable moments, there’s one particular situation that stands out as a unique turning point in my journey. It was a moment when I had to step up and lead from the front in the face of adversity, and in doing so, I discovered the true essence of leadership without authority.

The Mega Project: SASTI KITAAB

As part of the fellowship, we were divided into groups of 9 to 10 individuals, and we were tasked with working on a mega project — a new initiative aimed at providing accessible and affordable education to those in need. Our project, named “SASTI KITAAB,” was a bold attempt to address a pressing societal issue. However, as with any major undertaking, challenges were bound to arise.

The Missing Team Representative

In the midst of our project’s progress, we encountered an unexpected problem — our team representative went offline, and all attempts to reach him through various means proved futile. This situation posed a real threat to our project’s success. Without his guidance and leadership, there was a genuine risk that we might miss our deadline and fail to complete our mission.

A Leadership Dilemma

In such situations, my natural inclination had always been to avoid assuming leadership roles. I would often wait for someone else to step up and take charge, as I believed that leadership without authority was beyond my comfort zone. I preferred to be chosen for a role rather than actively seeking it.

However, this situation was different. It was a critical juncture for our project, and the urgency of the matter couldn’t be overstated. In a moment of realization, I understood that leadership isn’t always about titles or official roles; it’s about taking initiative when the need arises. In this moment, the need for leadership was undeniable.

Stepping Up

With newfound determination, I took the initiative to motivate the team in the absence of our representative. I organized a group meeting and discussed the situation with the team members. I guided them through our project’s objectives and challenges. With their consensus, we decided to approach our program manager and assistant manager of the Amal program to apprise them of our situation and seek guidance.

Through effective communication and a united front, we assured our program managers that our team was committed to completing our tasks on time, even in the absence of our representative. This collaborative effort showcased our dedication and determination to the project.

A Transformational Experience

As days passed, we eventually reconnected with our missing team representative. The project continued, but the experience had already transformed me in profound ways. I had discovered the power of leadership without authority — the ability to take the reins when necessary and guide others towards a common goal.

This experience taught me that leadership is not always about being at the forefront with a formal title. It’s about recognizing opportunities to make a difference, taking action, and inspiring others to do the same. It was a defining moment in my Amal Fellowship journey, one that pushed me to step out of my comfort zone and lead from the front, irrespective of the role I held.

Conclusion

The Amal Fellowship has been a transformative journey filled with lessons, challenges, and personal growth. The experience of leading from the front in the absence of our team representative during the SASTI KITAAB project was a defining moment. It reinforced the idea that true leadership transcends titles and positions and is about taking initiative, motivating others, and guiding them towards a shared vision.

As I reflect on this experience, I am grateful for the valuable lessons it has imparted and for the opportunity to grow as a leader. It is a reminder that sometimes, the most profound transformations occur when we step out of our comfort zones and take the lead when it is needed the most.

--

--