How to Retrieve Email Password from Microsoft Outlook 2016

Sally Jennifer
3 min readAug 23, 2019

--

As an HR in a company, I have to deal with a lot of emails on the computer every day. To facilitate my work, I added all my email accounts to the Outlook 2016 app, including my Gmail, Hotmail and my company’s enterprise email account. This is really convenient because I can work with my emails as soon as I open Microsoft Outlook, without having to enter a password to log in to my email account first.

Recently, something seems wrong with my Outlook 2016, it often closes inexplicably. So, I plan to reinstall Microsoft Office 2016. But before re-installation, I should find all my email passwords, so that I can add my email accounts back to Outlook after re-installation.

Since I haven’t entered my email passwords for months, I forgot where they were put. After a search on my computer, I found my Hotmail password and enterprise email password, but I lost my Gmail password. I tried to retrieve my Gmail password through the Gmail sign-in page but failed, because I lost my auxiliary email account that was used to register the Gmail account. Now I wonder if I can retrieve my Gmail password from the Microsoft Outlook 2016 app.

After a search on Google, I learned that passwords for the email accounts connected to Microsoft Outlook are stored in the Windows registry, but couldn’t be viewed directly, because they are encrypted. In fact, when I go to the Outlook Account Settings, I can’t see the email passwords because they are masked with asterisk characters. After a further Google search, I finally found a useful Outlook email password recovery tool called Outlook Email Password Refixer. It is a simple but powerful program that enables me to retrieve all my email account passwords from Microsoft Outlook 2016, including my lost Gmail password. Now I would like to share the specific process here so that people in need will benefit from here.

How to retrieve email password from Outlook 2016

Step 1: Download and install Outlook Email Password Refixer on your computer.

Note: Outlook Email Password Refixer is a Windows-based program, so it won’t work if you’re using Microsoft Outlook on Mac OS.

Step 2: Launch Outlook Email Password Refixer. It will immediately retrieve all your email account passwords saved in your Outlook 2016 and display the passwords to the screen, so you can view your email password, and copy or save them in a Notepad file.

If you also use Microsoft Outlook to deal with emails and unfortunately lost your email password, it should be a good idea to retrieve your email password from Microsoft Outlook.

--

--