CS371p Fall 2021: Ziyi Zhao

Ziyi Zhao
2 min readOct 10, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

I finally finished all of my CS projects last week, so I was able to enjoy a little bit of my own time this past weekend, but no so much of course. The next round is coming, so basically it’s a homework marathon. I need to manage my time well in order to squeeze some time to rest.

What’s in your way?

I conquered all of my current obstacles so far, most of which are assignments, so I’m able to play some video games with my friends, but besides that, midterms are coming next week, so I also need to save some time to review for the midterms.

What will you do next week?

I’m going to take 2 midterms next week, so I’m probably reviewing materials before midterm days.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #7: Open-Closed Principle?

I think this week’s article talked about something Dr. Downing did not mention in the class, which I think he will talk about it later in the course. I did a little C++ learning on my own, so I’m kind of familiar with the “virtual” keyword, which is similar to Interface in Java. By adding the keyword, we are able to implement it in subclasses inherited from the class that has the virtual function. There are also other principles such as encapsulation that we already got in touch with in class CS314, so it’s not hard to understand. Besides that, I think Open-Closed Principle is a good criteria that we can use when we want to make sure that our code designed in a way that is able to extend itself easily.

What was your experience of arguments, returns, and consts? (this question will vary, week to week)

I did some C++ learning on my own, so I’m quite familiar with arguments, returns and consts, but I do miss some important concepts when const mixes with pointers and references. Fortunately, I’m able to pick it up in class, as Dr. Downing talks about them.

What made you happy this week?

I’m pretty happy that I finish all my assignments on time and at the same I have some time of my own to enjoy, so it was a great week, and I hope I can keep it up in the rest of this semester.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I’m learning C# on my own so that I can utilize Unity to create some fun games in my spare time, so I found this self-guided learning tool created by Microsoft that is helpful for learning C#.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/users/dotnet/collections/yz26f8y64n7k07?WT.mc_id=dotnet-35129-website

--

--