My Self-Reflection from Meg Jay’s “Why 30 is not the new 20”

Zhen Xu
2 min readSep 28, 2023

--

Photo by Phil on Unsplash

When I was young, I wished I could grow up faster, so I have more control over my time. I thought growing up meant I did not have to listen to my parents for things that I didn’t want to do. I thought growing up meant I did not have to complete endless assignments. I thought growing up meant I could free myself in every form.

However, as I grew up and started to participate in the workforce, I figured there weren’t many differences. I am still living in a restricted bubble, with endless deadlines, payments, and numerous responsibilities that set me back even further from gaining control over my time. I started to go into a vicious cycle of complaining and convincing myself that “I’ll be this later,” “I’ll do this tomorrow,” “I’ll be that at the age of 30,” and or “I still have time, I can wait.” Until I came across a TED talk and realized what I had been doing was robbing my time unconsciously. The important message I received from Jay is to claim my adulthood in my 20s to start planning who I want to become and take action now. Not tomorrow, not a few days after, not anything but now.

“Miracles will not happen overnight, they will only take place when a good amount of hard work exists as a form of preparation.”

I still believe it’s never too late to start something, but it will be too late if I just let my vision and thought slip away and indicate “I’ll do it later” when I had already had the feeling that I might be “late” for something. The power originates from exploring now, taking action now, and using my current capital to invest in who might I want to become. The key is “now.” Whether or not you and I are in the middle of a life crisis, we have the inherent motivation to become a better version of ourselves because our “identity capital” wants to seek out further meanings that will add value to our existence. These could be the essential factors that define who we are.

--

--

Zhen Xu

All ideas are worth spreading because they represent the way we view the world, through our distinctive lens