How to write a great developer résumé and showcase your software engineering skills

Zhia Chong
The Startup
Published in
9 min readMar 20, 2018

--

For those of you who are starting out on your job search, and have questions about how to prepare a great résumé that can get your foot in the door, then this article is for you.

I recently wrote an article about how I prepared for my job interviews and finally landed my dream job at Twitter. And many people reached out (over 400+) to learn more, and a majority of them wanted to know how to write a great résumé.

This article is a collection of advice and tips I compiled together with Kristin Simmons, a senior technical recruiter at Twitter. I worked with her during my recruiting process, and she’s been an absolute blast to work with.

What this article is about:

  • Do’s in a résumé
  • Don’ts in a résumé
  • Extra tips
  • Advice for new graduates
  • Tools/resources I recommend

10/19/2018: Read more about my courses here to learn how I prepared.
8/25/2018: Read here for my experience and learnings after a year at Twitter.

What this is about

I recall distinctly the day I had to write my résumé, and I absolutely blanked out. I had no…

--

--

Zhia Chong
The Startup

Software Engineer @Twitter, retired tennis player@🇲🇾 my website @zhiachong.com