The Original World — The End

Alan Ren
2 min readDec 13, 2022

--

Image from WallpaperAccess

We had already moved from the restaurant to my room.

Ravel inhaled deeply: he finished his story.

I exclaimed: “Your story was amazing!”

Ravel smiled at me exhaustedly.

“So I no longer need to worry about Icarus, right?”

“You don’t need to. Now, Icarus only has one bomb in their hands. And they have no ability to develop more, that’s why they constantly put off the launch of the bomb. The Icarusian government will have a hard time explaining to their people about that. Your problem will be resolved automatically.”

“I better cancel my speech,” I said with great relief.

“Good luck!” said Ravel.

“You too!” I responded.

After Ravel had left, I took a look at the time on my phone: midnight!

It just rained outside: Thick fog cloaked the lower part of the city, and the upper part of the city rose above the fog as though a cloud city. The colorful lights emitted from the lofty skyscrapers were as magnificent as ever. The farther scene of the city was completely covered in an enormous curtain of mist. A strong white light from a prominent edifice penetrated through the mist, igniting the whole foggy sky. The strong light relentlessly held up its radiance against the uncompromising fog. Eventually, the fog gave in and dispersed away. The Milky way finally found its way out.

Eventually, Ravel found out the truth he sought. Maybe he was also looking at this majestic interstellar river. Among these innumerable small points in the river, the one near the center, where the starlights were the brightest in the sky was his mother planet. Maybe he was looking at it to recount his story to his mother.

--

--