Poem: The Brazen Woman

Zion
1 min readMay 23, 2023

--

A rare picture of a brazen woman

Is it really my body if it was first explored by someone else?

Should I be confident in it if it has loose value to me?

It’s been touched, rubbed, massaged before I even knew the meaning of those words.

They” saw a window to own it and “they” took it…Now it’s for sale.

They” saw a window to maltreat it and they took it…Now all feels dead inside.

“The body of a woman is a temple, worship it, treat it with care” — a psychologist once said.

I guess “they” missed that teaching in school.

A woman should be respected, adored, pampered.

I guess “they” don’t know the meaning of those words.

Now…It’s a different era from when women were silenced and convinced it was all in our minds.

Women are standing up, speaking out, fighting back…

When would “they” get the message?

Their” era is over.

Their” rule was futile.

We’re still strong.

We’re undefeated and we…

We’ll take back what belongs to us…

Our body… a temple of great value.

--

--

Zion

Welcome to my escape page. For moments when insomnia gets a hold of me, words pour out of me. I write to be free. Enjoy!