A few clarifications & notes

Zoe Cat
2 min readJun 28, 2015

--

On “Now Hiring” — this is a satire post. Please stop sending me your resumés.

On the Facebook post:

  • I initiated the custom gender feature this time around. I found folks there who had already done a bunch of background work from previous attempts. I found a lot of folks there who helped me out. I am far from the only trans woman who was on that project, and it was possible because a lot of people did a lot of good work.
  • To their immense credit, I did not encounter a shred of opposition for custom gender. Everyone understood that it was tremendously important, all the way up to the VP of identity.
  • I changed my name with the government a long time ago, but my Facebook pseudonym predates that and it’s what I go by. They wouldn’t be forcing me to use a name which misgenders me, just one I wouldn’t be recognised by. In UK law my FB name is a legal name of mine by usage and repute.
  • Yes, I could try to go through their process, but this is about fixing things for everyone and not just me. This is about getting my friends back on too.
  • I poked this bear when I worked there. They would have made me go through the same process as everyone else had I been checkpointed like this at the time. I disagree with their rules, but they don’t make special exceptions and that’s to their credit.
  • #LogOffForPride doesn’t necessarily mean deactivating your account. That’s how I described it on my post and that’s what folks are doing, but by all means just hit the “log out” button. The point is to not give them the pageviews.
  • I’m just blown away by the positive reaction. Thank you all so much for all of your support!

--

--