Wonderful Trip in San Francisco

Sonia Wu
4 min readNov 15, 2016

--

I was a Work &Travel student in the United States last year. I traveled around America for around one month. If you ask me which city I like the most, I will say San Francisco.

San Francisco is the cultural, commercial and financial center of Northern California, and it is also the only consolidated city-county in California. Now, San Francisco is considered as one of the most popular international destinations for tourists. There are a variety of well-known landmarks to visit such as Golden Gate Bridge, Cable Cars, Alcatraz Island, China Town and Coit Tower. In a recent ranking of America’s favorite cities to visit, San Francisco is ranked as one of the top 10 cities.

When talking about San Francisco, what comes first in your mind? I think most of you will answer “Golden Gate Bridge”. Golden Gate Bridge is regarded as the most internationally recognized symbol of San Francisco. When you visit San Francisco, Golden Gate Bridge is the most significant tourist attraction that you can’t miss.

However, there are few things you need to be aware of. As a result of being surrounded by water on three sides, the climate in San Francisco is strongly influenced by the Pacific Ocean. The climate there always has wet winters and dry summers. In addition, fog is a common weather phenomenon in San Francisco. Before visiting the bridge, checking the weather online is the best choice to ensure that you have the clear sightseeing of it. Enjoy the cool blast of salty air when you stroll across Golden Gate Bridge.

Cable cars are also a historical icon of San Francisco. I had an experience of riding a cable car from Union Square to Fisherman’s Wharf. It is extremely thrilling that cable cars clang up and down steep San Francisco hills. I think a trip to San Francisco isn’t complete without riding a cable car.

Fisherman’s Wharf is served by two cable car lines: the Powell-Hyde and the Powell-Mason line. After an exciting ride, I arrived at the Fisherman’s Wharf. The historic seafood restaurants at Fisherman’s Wharf offer a variety of seafood items such as fresh steamed crab, seafood cocktails, clam chowder, fried seafood and shrimp salad sandwiches. We chose Dungeness crabs and clam chowder in a sourdough bread bowl as our dinner. It tastes really mouth-watering and delicious.

When I finished the perfect meal and had a leisure walk on the streetway, I noticed that lots of people were taking photos and standing in front of the streetway. I was curious but did not know what’s happened. Surprisingly, a man who was hidden in front of a garbage can suddenly showed up and scared me while I was passing in front of him.

As you can see in the picture on the left, the man pretended himself as a tree and hid in a garbage bag. He scared everyone who passed the streetway, and the person who was being shocked will stand in the crowded. They wanted to record the moment that someone was being shocked. This is the reason why there were so many people taking photos. Goes without saying, I joined the crowded and attempted to record the surprising moment for someone. I think it is really interesting to have such a surprising experience in a foreign country. In Taiwan, there are a variety of street performers, but I have never seen these kinds of performances before. The man really entertained everyone on the streetway at that time.

Due to many reasons I have mentioned in the front, I recommend that San Francisco is the first choice to visit while traveling to the United States. If you love traveling or love to spend a wonderful time with your family and friends, then you should be hitting to San Francisco.

--

--