Reflecting on 2021

Leaving Dual School, Getting Married and Exploring Web3

Zack Jones
6 min readJan 1, 2022

It’s been a while since I’ve written much of anything, but it’s a nice habit to sit down at the end of the year and reflect on some of the big moments that got me here.

Stepping down as Executive Director of Dual School

Realizing it was time to leave Dual School was one of the hardest things I’ve felt professionally. It was something I had poured my heart and soul into, but it became clear that I needed to move on, and the organization needed new leadership.

When I moved to New Hampshire to be closer to family, we hired a full time staff member in Delaware, and I tried to expand our programming to Manchester, New Hampshire. I spent 6 months building relationships here and we eventually launched our program in March of 2020. We had 2 sessions, then everything shut down.

Dual School went into an exploratory phase of launching virtual programs for a year or so while everyone was still at home. But once the dust settled, it became clear that Dual School wasn’t meant to be a national, or international organization at the time; we were meant to serve a local audience in Delaware. We had many opportunities and so much traction in the Wilmington, Delaware area that it felt silly to leave that behind as an organization. But I wasn’t in Delaware anymore, so leading a local changemaking initiative was challenging as in-person programming resumed.

At this point, we’re not certain what the future holds. The Dual School board will guide the organization into its next phase.

I’ve learned so much from my time with Dual School. Without a doubt the highlight of it all has been the students we’ve worked with over the years. Watching a group of young people grow over the course of 4+ years is a special experience.

The second ever Dual School cohort from spring 2018

The other big learning for me is about focus. In my next role, I need to find what I’m good at and focus on that thing. My focus got spread too thin at Dual School, partially due to necessity as a small non profit, and also because I didn’t know better.

I still think about education and project based learning constantly, so I don’t think I’m leaving this space any time soon, but I will be very intentional about what my next move is.

I got married!

Reading our vows at Pats Peak in Henniker, NH

We’re so lucky to have had so many people that we love in the same place. It was a weekend we will remember forever.

It was a TON of planning, but it was more than worth it to spend a few days with family and friends to celebrate. We planned an experience around the wedding so there was the wedding, a basketball game, a brunch, a golf tournament, a workout class, a barbecue and a volleyball match. We wanted there to be a little something for everyone to enjoy and it led to a 48 hours of so much fun.

After the wedding, Sophia and I took a trip to southern California to visit LA and San Diego. That was also an incredible trip filled with amazing food, great weather and the joy of exploring new places.

What will I do next?

I don’t know yet. I’m leaving my full time job and will be taking some time to work on personal projects like writing more, making videos, being creative again. I want to help young people and local entrepreneurs who have ideas for change, for startups, for projects. There are so many things that give me energy. I want to reconnect with those things.

I will be working some part-time and contract engagements during this time period. I’m also around and curious to learn about new industries. If you want to collaborate on a project, feel free to reach out!

Web3

Crypto / web3 / blockchain / DeFi / NFTs, whatever you want to call it. I fell down the rabbit hole, spending hours every night on Discord, Twitter, YouTube and OpenSea. It’s been a fascinating learning experience and I love helping others understand the space.

The crypto world is full of speculation, scams, and quick flips, but beyond all of that I think there is potential for good. I’m willing to be wrong. And I want to explore that question over the next few months. How might web3 help us build a better world?

Physical Activity and Wellbeing

I spent a lot of the spring and summer focused on golf and I got a lot better. During this time my handicap dropped from around 11 to 7.4 at its lowest. I shot a number of rounds in the 70s including a few 75s and played a few nines at even par. I even made my first albatross (scoring a 2 on a par 5) on the 2nd hole at Canterbury Woods after holing out a 3 hybrid from 220 yards.

The 2nd hole at Canterbury Woods

After a few months of focus on improving in golf, it became harder to dedicate the time needed to keep getting better. Especially as the days became shorter and there was less time to get outside after work. I’ve decided to just enjoy the game, and try to play more with friends and family rather than playing to get better every time. I also found that while walking a golf course took a lot of energy, it wasn’t the kind of exercise that left me tired at the end of the day.

So in the fall, my focus shifted back to tennis. I played high school tennis and played casually during college, but I met some people in the Concord, NH area who I’ve been playing with about once a week for the past 3 months. Running around the court is a lot more physically demanding, and I love the focus required to hit good shots while your heart is pounding.

In addition, I’ve started playing soccer again which has been fun and physically challenging. At the moment I’m nursing a few minor injuries that come with playing a contact sport like soccer. I’m getting ready for snowboarding season and excited to spend some time out on the snow.

Intentions for 2022

  • Improve my flexibility and mobility. I’m hoping to reconnect with a yoga practice in the new year.
  • Reconnect with what brings me joy and energy. Learning, teaching, writing, moving my body and helping other people see their potential.
  • Create more in public. Maybe it’s blog posts, videos, a newsletter. Not sure yet.

I thought I’d have more intentions, more goals, but these are the only two that have come up. If we haven’t talked in a while, let’s catch up! I have a lot more time in the new year and I love hearing what people are up to.

Thanks for reading. Until next time,

Zack

--

--

Zack Jones

Hi, my name is Zack! I teach creativity, entrepreneurship and conscious living. Thanks for being here.