The Only Ice Cream I Ever Loved

Zack Jones
3 min readDec 21, 2015

--

I thought I was over it. I knew it was discontinued and that I would never taste such perfection again, but when I arrived in Columbia, PA for the Turkey Hill Experience, it all came rushing back.

450 miles from home, I could still taste the golden concoction that was all natural coffee ice cream. I could taste the days when I got up and had one helping for breakfast, another for brunch and then one more for dessert.

Unfortunately the all-you-can-eat ice cream samples at the Experience didn’t include the flavor that was lost. I looked around and saw no remnants or extra packages to buy. I was optimistic to even be looking because I knew it was over.

First it came in a black container labeled “Coffee.” I remember the times my mom got Columbian Coffee in the yellow container and it wasn’t the same. Sure, Columbian Coffee was an above average coffee ice cream, but nothing divine like the black container coffee.

Black Container Coffee was a perfect mix of authentic coffee flavor, with creamy finish and just the right amount of sweetness.

Only one store had it. Market Basket was the only place that carried Turkey Hill ice creams near me. There were big grocery stores closer to my house, but it was worth the extra drive to get the good ice cream that seemed to mysteriously disappear every few days.

A staple for years and years, when I came home this summer and looked, I couldn’t find it in stock. Strange, but not alarming because stores run out of stuff all the time. It got concerning when the visits piled up and I continued to come home empty handed. I kept checking, thinking there must have been some sort of coffee bean shortage in the world that was delaying production.

My girlfriend started to realize my concern and without my knowledge sent an email to the company inquiring about the ice cream. I saw the email preview during my tennis camp and paused quickly to read the full thing.

Devastation. It’s sometimes better to have a glimmer of irrational hope than a certain negative outcome. The news was sad, but it wouldn’t stop me from checking the shelves from time to time. It feels like I’ve lost a part of me. A part of my childhood that should still exist, has disappeared.

Lack of sales seemed to kill this product. Unfortunate. It was the only all natural coffee ice cream I’ve found. Every other coffee ice cream is so obviously flavored with syrup, I just taste disappointment in each scoop.

Life isn’t fair sometimes. My eyes are forever peeled for another ice cream that compares to the legendary, Turkey Hill All Natural Coffee. If you find one I should try, please let me know.

--

--

Zack Jones

Hi, my name is Zack! I teach creativity, entrepreneurship and conscious living. Thanks for being here.