Hacker Paradise Remote Working and Travel Blog

Zach Waterfield
3 min readJun 20, 2016

--

This morning on a whim I decided to write a little travel blog for my trip to Portugal this summer. At first I was going to write about my experiences travelling, but while I was writing out the tags for the post I had a thought come to me.

Why not write about working remote?

People always say they want to try it but don’t know if it’ll work for them. So that’s what I am going to do.

This blog will outline my first time working remote full time while I am in Porto, Portugal this summer. I am by no means a good write, not even close. (See what i did there? Yes that grammar mistake was on purpose but be warned there will be mistakes in these posts that are not on purpose. I just can’t grammar). I will try to show my experiences with remote working and whether it is a good fit for me. I will also include some travel experiences and adapting on the culture for a long period of time instead of just passing through. I’ll try and write at least once a week while I’m here and include pictures of the amazing city of Porto and wherever else I end up along the way. Hopefully this will help people thinking about remote work discover whether it would work for them.

I am joining Hacker Paradise; a program where a group of people travel to somewhere and work remotely. They set you up in housing and get a co-working space. There will people from all over the world and I am really excited to meet them all.

This is the area where I will be staying. I’m in a huge Airbnb (photo on the left below) with 5 of us in it but haven’t met anyone yet as they all went to Lisbon for the weekend. The co-working space is a 60 second walk away (so close!).

Here are a photos of the area. First thoughts, this place is so different and I love it. Everyone is outside, spending time with each other, on patios, on the grass and walking around. Music is playing everywhere and people are just enjoying life, so stress free.

As a little background, I am a 3rd year Computer Engineering student from the University of Waterloo in Waterloo, On, Canada. This summer (May 2016 to Aug 2016) I am on a 4 month internship with a Toronto based company called Universe. I was in the office for about a month and a half before coming to Portugal. If you haven’t head of them you should look them up at www.universe.com (amazing domain right?). Universe is an amazing events and ticketing app where you can promote events an sell tickets either on the universe site or embedded into your own site. They are growing a lot and I am working there at such a great time to see the growth.

That’s all for now, have a good week.

--

--