CS373 Week of 30 Mar — 5 Apr

Zachary May
2 min readApr 5, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, my group finished up phase 2 of the project. There were a lot of hiccups in getting our API call results formatted the way we wanted. We were able to drastically reduce the number of joins necessary to access all of the information we needed by redesigning some of our database tables.

What’s in your way?

Not much is currently in my way other than the standard work for other classes. I think that our group did a pretty good job of handling the transition of in-person collaboration to zoom and discord discussions.

What will you do next week?

Next week, our group will hit the ground running on phase 3. Our API currently has functionality for searching, so we just need to refine that a bit to encapsulate more searches. The sorting on our webpage also feels very manageable, so we feel that we are in a good spot to be successful in this next installation of IDB.

What was your experience of Test #1b? (this question will vary, week to week)

I felt that the online exam process was pretty straightforward. Our group didn’t run into issues with the problems or zoom, and we feel that the exam was fair. I know other groups had complaints that you couldn’t copy-paste from zoom, but you wouldn’t be able to do that in person either. Zoom was only there for us to collaborate and discuss approaches, not hand out answers without any thought on the receiving end.

What made you happy this week?

I got to take Friday completely off of school and just catch up with some friends on Discord. It was nice to finally have an entire day to myself for the first time since February. I’ve actually found that I’ve gotten closer to my friends back home during this since I am making a conscious effort to reach out to those that are away from me.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Even though we are all isolated, still pair-program over zoom! We were able to make some really good progress putting our heads together (virtually of course). This work can be very tough, and it is much easier to catch someone else’s mistakes than your own.

--

--

Zachary May
0 Followers

UT Junior Studying Computer Science and Mathematics