Being Demisexual is Not ‘Normal’: And Other Thoughts On People’s Unsolicited Opinions of My Sexuality

Zoe Lee
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

When I share my demisexuality with people, the main response that I get is that that is ‘normal’, and the lack of physical attraction to folks other than those I deeply care about is how everyone feels.

I definitely beg to differ.

When you have a celebrity crush, a physical preference on who you’d like to date (aka a ‘physical type’) or get crushes on a stranger walking down the street, that is considered normal by society. Most demisexuals don’t have any of those.

(Obviously, I can’t claim to be the representative for all demisexuals, but all demis that I know share this sentiment.)

The more typical demisexual experience is seeing someone you see is beautiful and seeing them as a piece of artwork. For me, this experience is independent of their gender. I see a person with a cool piece of clothing, or a look I admire, and I give them a compliment! I think it’s cool, and I move on with my day. Much like a patron at a museum.

The idea of dates has never really appealed to me either to be honest. I can’t see myself getting to know someone with the intent of getting romantic with them. I have a larger friend pool than most, spanning cities and countries, so I…

--

--

Zoe Lee
ILLUMINATION

I wear many hats: mechanical/space engineer, friend, traveler, artist, writer & philosopher. Find some of my travel stories at starryeyestravel.com!