How Resume Writing Grew My Confidence

Zoe Karbe
2 min readMar 20, 2024

--

I’m obsessed with my resume.

I could attribute that to some narcissism, yes. But it’s also been a hellish economy which means I’ve been let go a good few times now. So in my defense, I have been forced into these less than desirable situations.

It doesn’t help that I’m a bit of the tragic clown type, leaning on self-deprecation, and non-seriousness. Unfortunately making jokes at your own expense again, and again tends to muddle self-perception. To fight my way out of this slump, I’ve turned to obsessing about my resume. Writing, rewriting, redesigning, deleting, and so on.

This has become my “go-to” in the way of real professional soul-searching.

Working on your resume forces you to ask questions. Like “what the f*** have I been doing for all these years writing in front of a computer, smashing letters on a keyboard”, and “in what capacity has all that keyboard smashing contributed to my employer’s growth? “Or even my own?”

These are big questions, no doubt.

This is why, for me, a resume lets me really “dig in.”

It lets you create your own narrative, your brand if you will. It sheds light on who you were between, for example, June 2019 — July 2021, and subsequently August 2021 to January 2023, and so on.

Each time I’ve rewritten my resume, I have gained more appreciation for each role within my journey. I’ve found value in each line, which, as I have learned, when you come to the table knowing your worth and how you contributed, you bullshit less and end up being appreciated more.

Resume writing helps me understand where I am going with more clarity. It gives me bird’s-eye view of my career trajectory. What’s the role I would like to seize next?

I think it all essentially comes down to some sort of journaling or self affirmation. When you do it enough, when you tell yourself over and over, and over again, “I have done this. I’ve done that. I plan to do X, I am very good at Y”. Slowly, starts to permeate.

So, in light of this shitty time of layoffs, uncertainty, and AI, maybe just do yourself a little favor.

Rewrite your resume a million times, and use it as your guiding light.

It’s sure been mine.

--

--