My new plan to grow on Medium

Why I haven’t reached 100 followers yet

Zordy
4 min readDec 7, 2023

Last week I turned 20 and started thinking about my life. I asked myself how it was going and how I felt about it.

I noticed that my life wasn’t going like I wanted, I’ve also noticed that I didn’t have enough control over it.

I was wasting time on things I didn’t need, and, most importantly, I wasn’t focusing on my Medium account.

When I started this adventure on Medium, I started with a friend: Mene, and as you’ll see by checking his profile, he’s way over me on this platform.

Now let’s talk about stats:

My first article was published on 29th October and by now:

  • 7 articles published
  • 34 followers
  • 146 total views
  • 8 total comments

These stats are horrible, there aren’t other ways to say it.

How I want to improve

I’ve read Cipher Max’s article My Strategy to Reach 100 Followers, and, by taking inspiration from him, I’m giving myself these new rules:

1. Consistency

The first thing I need to do is to be consistent.

If you look at the top writers on Medium, they write an article per day, I can’t compete with my seven articles in a month.

Consistency is the key.

So from now on I will publish an article every two days, no matter what.

2. Community participation

If you want to grow you also have to give, to let the community know who you are and what you think.

So you have to actively participate in the community of Medium, and interact with other users.

I started doing this a couple of weeks ago and trust me, you’ll see the difference.

I found out in Aliya🦋’s article that she was reading 10 Medium articles ( in which she actively participated) per day and it still wasn’t enough.

I don’t know if there’s an exact number of articles to read every day, so I’m trying to read and participate in other’s articles for at least 30 minutes per day.

3. Creating good quality content

Quality is always better than quantity.

If you write daily but your articles aren’t engaging you won’t grow on this platform, and there’s nothing you can’t do.

So I’m going to improve my way of writing and create more engaging content to give value to my page, and to encourage people to discuss in the comments.

4. Join a Medium Publication

All the top writers have some of their articles published by a Publication.

But why are they doing this if they are already top writers?

Publishing into a Publication can give more visibility than your account, and also to a different public.

So I’m going to try joining some Publications.

5. Sharing is caring

Last but not least.

I’m going to share my content on various platforms, and I’m also going to give the friend link to all my friends.

In this way, I’m going to get more views, and also to get some feedback.

This plan is not easy, but if I’ll keep working on myself I’m sure that I’ll reach my objectives.

These are my thoughts on the argument.

Let me know in the comments if you found this useful, what you think about this, and if you have any other advice.

Follow me on Zordy to don’t lose any updates.

Thank you for reading.

I hope you’re having a good day.

I also want to say thank you to all the people who recently started to follow me:

David Loewen, Matt Youth, Steven Thompson, Rossella Amatulli, UpliftWithQuotes, The Reviewers, Your NativeFriend, Jorden House-Hay, Nouriel Gino Yazdinian, Roxy Wright.

Thank you all. 🙏🏼

--

--