My Awesome Cloud Desktop using AWS WorkSpaces (DaaS)

Zsannen Mariano
5 min readNov 8, 2022

--

Hi, humaaans! This is my journey on how I discovered Desktop as a Service (DaaS) using AWS WorkSpaces. ❤️

AWS WorkSpace (DaaS) with my iPad Air 5th Gen

Backstory

I am currently building my own game server in GTA FiveM. Since I transitioned my work environment from Windows to Mac, and unfortunately, my Windows laptop drive broke, I looked for a new way to continue developing my game server. One that caught my attention was the AWS WorkSpaces, and it was aweessoommee! It’s like I found a treasure. After setting everything up, I can now use any devices I want to develop my server.

Objectives

  • Create my own workspace to use for my FiveM server development
  • Access workspace via iPad or my Macbook

Prerequisites

  • AWS account
  • Knowledge about AWS services

Sooo.. How will you set up your own cloud desktop?

  1. Go to AWS > Workspaces (DaaS)

Note: Make sure that you select the “WorkSpaces: Desktops in the Cloud”

2. From the left side menu, select “Directories”

Note: A directory should be initially created before creating the worksp[ace (or virtual desktop) because this will be the “storage” that the (virtual) PC we are going to make

3. Select “Create Directory”

4. From the directory types, select “Simple AD”.

Note: Simple AD is the cheapest of the given options so might as well use it for a start.

5. Fill up directory information/requirements. On this step, we would like to fill up the base information of our directory. Refer to the following values we are going to use:

  • Directory size: Small (Cheapest option)
  • Organization name: myuniqueorgname (Think of as your domain for private network)
  • Directory DNS name: org.unique.dev (Again, like your domain)
  • Administrator password: yourpassword (Admin user inside your local machine)
  • All optional fields may be left blank (I did this)
  • Once you are done with all the required information, proceed to the next step.

6. Choose VPC and subnets

  • I left the setup as is but if you prefer other VPC/subnets that you have created before, you may use that as well. Then click “Next”

7. Review all the information you have selected before creating directory.

Note: Always check for the pricing just to be sure about the expected billing costs. Here’s an example of pricing setup based from what we have setup:

(Good thing they have a 30-day limited trial. I love it! 🫰🏾)

8. After the creation of the directory, it should add to the list of directories

Note: AWS will take time to create the directory. I did not have a chance to time it but I think it’s between 15–30mins. Focus on the current details of your created directory.

  • Registered: False
  • Status: Registering / Creating / Active

Register Directory

Initially, the Registered value is set to “No/False”. That means that the DB of uses is not yet tied to the directory/environment. The value should be in “active” status before you can be able to register it.

To register a directory, follow the instructions below:

  1. Select the directory > Click “Action” > “Register”
  2. Enable self-service permissions
  3. You may also enable Amazon WorkDocs if you want to turn on file sharing within your organization’s network

Note: By this time, the “Registered” value should be “Registered” or “True”.

Create Workspace

It’s time for us to access our virtual desktop and to do that, you may refer to the following steps:

  1. Select “Create Workspace”
  2. Select the directory we just created (or your preferred one)

3. Create users that will be using the workspace (Your login access)

Note: The number of users created is the number of workspaces that AWS will spin up

4. Select the machine or preferred hardware and software for your desktop. ( I suggest using the free tier first as you try it out — Standard with Windows 10 (Server 2016 based))

6. For the workspace configuration, we would like to..

  • Select “AutoStop” as our running mode — Free tier (Make use of all the free tier when trying out new services/technology esp. in AWS)

Note: Spin up time usually takes at least 5 minutes but it can also take 10–20 minutes.

7. Once everything is done and successfully created, the status will be set to “Available” and then it will send you an email with your Workspace profile and key to use.

8. Click the link from your email to complete your profile and download the client

Access your Virtual Desktop

  1. Download the app, AWS workspace, according to the device you will use (I am using iPad Air 5th gen)
https://clients.amazonworkspaces.com/

Once done and you have already logged in, you may now be able to access your cloud desktop! Yaayyy!

I hope this helps. Let me know how you used it and your thoughts about it. ❤️

--

--