5 Gestures And Behaviors When A Dog Is Begging Its Owner To Hold It

Zubair Writes
4 min readAug 4, 2023

There are so many dogs that want to be pampered by their owners. There is even a dog that is requesting a hug…! This time, we will introduce the gestures and behaviors when a dog is begging its owner for a hug. Receive messages from your dog correctly

5 Signs When Your Dog Is Begging For A Hug

Photo by Milli on Unsplash

What signs does your dog show when it’s begging for a hug? Here, we will introduce some of the gestures and behaviors that dogs show when they are begging their owner to hold them.

1.Put The Front Leg On The Body

Dogs often put their front paws on the owner’s legs or arms to give a signal to get the attention of the owner when they want to be spoiled. It’s not uncommon for the request to “hold me” along with the “look at me” and “watch me” signs.

Some children will try to pull the arms of the owner to themselves. I think there are many owners who think it’s cute because it looks like a whining human child.

2. Sit Down And Stare In Front Of You

Photo by Jay Wennington on Unsplash

In order to get the owner to notice the request of “I want you to hold me”, many dogs take the action of sitting in front of the owner’s eyes and staring at them until they notice.

For dogs, the act of sending eye contact to a close partner is an expression of affection, and it is also a means of communicating something. There may be requests that you want to meet, such as “I want you to pay attention” and “I want you to hold me”.

3. Puts Its Front Paw On The Owner’S Leg And Rubs Against It

When you are standing, such as when you are doing housework, put your front paws on your owner’s feet and rub your head and body.

This is also a behavior that you show when you are pampered, saying, “Give me a hug” or “I want to have physical contact with you.” When he’s busy, it’s a good idea to gently say, “Wait a minute,” and hold him after he’s calmed down.

4. Licking The Owner’S Body

Photo by leandro fregoni on Unsplash

The behavior of licking the owner’s body is often shown when asking for “I want you to care” or “I want you to hold me”.

In particular, many dogs try to convey their desire to “hold” by licking the hands they use to hold them or around their faces.

5. Get On Your Lap From Yourself

For owners who do not notice the signs or respond to them, some dogs voluntarily sit on the owner’s lap or belly to ensure a virtual “hold” state.

By getting on your lap yourself, you can show your smart and cute side by taking a slightly forcible method, saying, “I’m telling you to hold me!”

Is it okay if I ask for a hug every time?

Photo by Erica Magugliani on Unsplash

When your dog asks you to cuddle, many of you may be worried about whether it is okay to accept it every time or whether you will be selfish.

Basically, there is no problem if you respond to the desire to be spoiled, but if you respond every time, there is a risk that you will become selfish, saying, “I will always comply with your request.”

If the owner is busy with household chores or can’t let go of their hands, give priority to those errands, and when the dog calms down, give them physical contact and cuddle.

Even when temporarily refusing, instead of shouting “No”, it is safer to say “Wait a minute” in a gentle voice, or to look at the person and make eye contact from time to time. To do.

Summary

Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

How was it. Many dogs are spoiled children, so I often send a signal to the owner saying “I want you to hold me”.

If you wait until your dog has calmed down instead of responding every time, you’ll be able to fulfill their needs without negatively impacting your training.

--

--

Zubair Writes

Aiming to make the living environment of dog owners and their dogs better and nicer. You can visit if you need best dog Supplies https://dogsupplies.wed2c.com/