“Here Is Your Pay For The Week.”

Gary A J Martin
5 min readJun 3, 2024

Into my trembling, eager hand, my new boss dropped several coins. Uh, ok. Not quite what I was hoping for….

Photo by Badhan Ganesh on Unsplash

I was in my mid 20’s and unemployed, but needed to do crazy things like put food in my rumbling belly, and I didn’t like sleeping on public lawns, kind of hard on the back, you know?

I prefer a soft, gentle mattress, to the hard ground of a park. Park benches were even worse.

So I saw an ad looking for telemarketers, no experience necessary.

Sounded great! Just what I was looking for. I didn’t have much of a resume to speak of, having mostly done labouring and orchard work in the past, being as I was a High School dropout.

So I went to the interview, scared shitless as I usually was for those kind of things, but putting on my usual, I’m too cool for school attitude. Don’t show weakness, or the interviewer will eat you alive! 😲

Really, kind of like going on a first date with a girl.

The real differece was, I was even MORE scared shitless when it was a romantic date.

But would you believe it? Wow. They took me on. Phew!

So starting on the next Monday, I started making cold calls after a few hours of orientation and training. I made call after call after call each day, trepidation…

--

--

Gary A J Martin

I’m Gary, The ‘DOG’. Out of internet marketing 10+ years, spending the next 10 building a 7 figure digital business. Showing how you can have success online.