A 30-Day Writing Challenge — Day 16

Sok Lay
A 30-Day Writing Challenge
2 min readAug 26, 2017

Something that i miss…not really!

Photo Credit — Pixabay

Life is so much different ever since I become a mum.

It feels overwhelming to undergo such a significant change in life. I wonder why we treat ourselves so harshly given that it is our first attempt at parenting?

If you ask the question of what a new parent miss most about their pre-baby life, you may get something like:

  • I miss the sleep
  • I miss having the time to myself
  • I miss having the time to date my partner
  • I miss having freedom
  • I miss…

The list goes on. But there is one thing that you can observe in each of those statements: there is a sense of clinging to the past. It is almost a tradition for new parents to mourn the passing of their old lives.

I, too, got caught up in this trend.

What I realised is the more I complain, the more addicted I get at doing it. I was dwelling in my past. I was miserable.

Luckily, I came across a book called Buddhism for Mothers, by Sarah Napthali. This book reminds me how important it was to live in the moment. I never understand why being present is so beneficial for us. But having said that, I was a busy bee. I am always physically and mentally occupied.

Once, I read about a person who was too busy to the point that he left his baby in the car. The kid died, of course. He genuinely forgot to drop off his child at daycare despite driving there. This article was a wake-up call for me. Being busy is dangerous.

So if you ask me now whether I miss anything about my previous life, I say, no. I am now living in my dream.

Like this article?

Click the clap button now so everyone can read this as well :) Thanks for your support. Connect with me via Facebook, Twitter or Instagram today! Or hop over to my blog and see what I am all about.

--

--

Sok Lay
A 30-Day Writing Challenge

A recovering perfectionist with an overly curious mind. A mother-in-training as well as a wife who doesn’t know how to cook! http://thelaland.com/about/