A 30-Day Writing Challenge — Day 19

Sok Lay
A 30-Day Writing Challenge
2 min readAug 29, 2017

Birthing experience of an organised freak…

I love to organise things. I thought I could apply my organisational skills to labor.

I created spreadsheets, checklists, and much more. I researched extensively the recommended things to do as well as what to bring to the hospital.

I don’t know why but I thought birthing was supposed to be long. It is excruciating and unbearable. My perception is probably skewed because of the horrible labor stories that I heard from the people around me.

If everyone has similar experience, then it must be true. I thought to myself.

The hospital bag was well planned ahead so the moment my water broke, I knew exactly where it was and out we went with a large baggage.

We were told to go home after they had finished assessed me. I was experiencing contractions which I rated as being a 8 out of 10 pain. The nurse still insist that I go back home.

We were delighted to go home though because my husband and I regretted staying up too late the night before. It was such a terrible idea to watch Korean drama until 2 am. I kept repeating to myself.

Once we reached home, I couldn’t take it any longer. I started to take my TENS machine and yelled at my husband to help me.

I kept screaming as the contractions kick in. But my husband asked me to not scream as he says that I need to conserve my energy for later.

I didn’t know what to do so I pushed instead, without knowing that I was helping my baby to descend from the birthing canal.

‘Honey, we must go to the hospital now!’ I declared to my husband.

Without hesitation, my husband took me to the hospital. He wasn’t rushing. I felt the something between my legs but I didn’t say anything because it might stress out.

I sprayed out of the door as soon as my husband re-parked the car. By the time, my legs felt so weak as they walked pass the glass door.

‘Are you alright? Do you need me to call a wheelchair from the birthing unit?’ A polite nurse asked us as she watches me kneeing down to contain my contractions.

‘Please.’ It was the only word that I could muttered out.

The wheelchair arrived. My body was wheeled towards the elevator and the next thing I know was my baby came out. My husband later told me that the nurse keep telling me to not push but I pushed.

--

--

Sok Lay
A 30-Day Writing Challenge

A recovering perfectionist with an overly curious mind. A mother-in-training as well as a wife who doesn’t know how to cook! http://thelaland.com/about/