Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Is Anybody Home?!

Tyler Goelz
A Beard Across America
3 min readApr 16, 2014

--

This story is an excerpt from A Beard Across America, read more excerpts here.

By time I reached Oklahoma City, I was quite comfortable with ins-and-outs of CouchSurfing: connect with a local, grab dinner & a drink, and enjoy the city as if you lived there.

This was not the case in Oklahoma City.

I found my host, Ben, before I even left Florida. He seemed like an awesome guy and I couldn’t wait to meet him. When I got to OKC, he was still at work, so I took advantage of that time to do a little bit of client work.

The next time I talked to Ben, he said he was going to have to go back to work and wouldn’t be home when I got there, so he would leave a key underneath his front doormat.

I got to his house around 9PM, put my things in my room and decided to watch some TV while I waited for Ben. His estimated time of getting back home was around midnight.

The first thing I did was look to see if there were any local brew pubs Ben’s house to grab a bite to eat and a nice beer. There weren’t any within walking or biking distance and the closest one was about a 20 minutes car ride away.

11:30PM rolled around and I noticed all the traveling I had been doing up until this point started to catch up with me. I was tired! I decided to get some sleep, I could always meet Ben in the morning.

When I finally came around the next morning, I awoke to an empty house. I slept through Ben getting home that night and waking up for work the next morning. If you’re reading this and have never taken an extended road trip, you might think this is a hard feat, but trust me, after that many days on the road it is quite easy.

Although I never got to meet Ben in-person, I am still very thankful for his trust in opening his home to me.

I hope you enjoyed this excerpt from A Beard Across America. To read more stories like this one, sign up for your FREE copy of A Beard Across America at www.ABeardAcrossAmerica.com

Get the rest of this chapter and more at abeardacrossamerica.com

Be The First To Read A Beard Across America

The eBook isn’t quite ready, but have no fear, sign up and you will receive a personal email with a FREE copy as soon as it is finished.

Sign up at A Beard Across America!

--

--