The Giant Who Stood 5'5"…

Kelly L Sharp
A better man
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2023
Papi! (created in MidJourney)

I grow weary of saying these goodbyes.

Today, a great man gathered his family around him.

He told them how much he loved them.

How proud he was of them.

How grateful he was for them.

How much they meant to him.

He was saying his ‘goodbyes’.

Metastatic pancreatic cancer had ravaged his body. He was in great pain. Too weak to walk or even lift himself.

He started calling people into his room one by one. He gave his final ‘instructions’ (advice) to each member of his family and a few close friends. Soon, I was called in for my turn.

I stood by his side. His vision was failing, so I placed my hand on his belly.

“I am here, Papi, right here.”

He placed his hand on top of mine.

“Kelly, I love you like a son. I have enjoyed our long conversations together. We didn’t always agree, but that is how life works.

“Please honor me and take care of Becky.”

“Always, Papi. Just like I have for the past 40 years.”

“Kelly, please prepare and make plans wisely. Do not improvise your way through life without a purpose. Have a plan A, a plan B, and a plan C.”

“Just as you taught, Papi, I have made and fulfilled financial plans, family plans, and spiritual plans. I listened to you.”

*pause*

“Papi?”

“Si? ”

“Tu eres Mi Padre para siempre. Yo estoy contigo ahora y para siempre”

He started crying.

“Papi?”

“Si?”

“Por favor, una bendición para mi?”

Dad died suddenly 16 years ago. I was unable to ask a blessing from him. But I could ask Papi.

He gave me a blessing.

Then I told him goodbye. “Dios te bendigo, Papi. Hasta luego, nos veremos en otro lugar.”

And thank you for grabbing me by the wrist and pulling me into your family.

I love you…

(in honor of my father-in-law)

--

--

Kelly L Sharp
A better man

Small town boy recruited to most exclusive Ivy-League University (Brown ’85) I write to grab you by the throat. I mentor young men. Love conflicting viewpoints.