Mysteries of The Past, Chapter One

Fun Daily Stories
A Bit of Madness
Published in
2 min readJul 17, 2023

Life had been great for me these last 15 years, but then everything suddenly changed forever.

I was told that my parents died when I was young. I was in the orphanage until these wonderful people took me in as their own. They were the only ones I could call parents. People who would tell me bedtime stories and always take me to my favorite places. But after this moment in time, I would never see them again.

For the last few days, I dreamt of pirates. It was odd to me. I hated pirates. They were the meanest, dirtiest people I had ever heard of. Realizing it all, I didn’t think it was a nightmare because they were calling me. They looked me in the eye and called me. Why would they want me? I am nothing more than a scrawny boy who has no specific talent or skill.

Finally, I decided to tell my parents about it. When I told them, they looked at each other worriedly and after a few moments of silence, my mother said, “Dear, you aren’t fantasizing. Your parents…they aren’t dead like we said they were. You weren’t even in an orphanage”.

“What are you saying?”

“Your parents are pirates, Pete. We took you away from them. We had too. They were going to make you do things that were unforgivable. We couldn’t allow it anymore so we left and came to this world. Far from people like them.”

Ultimate Pirates. By Grafit-art, From Deviant art.

“Wait, what other world, are you talking about?” I asked puzzled.

“The World of Pirates, where all the treasure, all your greatest desires are.”

“Why have I never heard of it before?”

“It’s a secret. Nobody knows about it because of the codes and laws there are.”

“How did you even get here?” I asked astonished.

“That we can’t tell you, for your own protection”.

“Why lie all these years?”

“We wanted to tell you when you old enough”, my father said. “Why do they want me?” I asked desperately.

“They want their son. And finally after all these years, they figured out our code.”

“Code,” I repeated.

“Yes, we put codes to leave messages. All pirates do so”.

“Wait, you’re bloody murders?”

They didn’t look at me as I said that.

“Why send a code for them to find me?”

“We wanted you to be old enough so you could be prepared to kill your parents”.

“What?! Kill my own parents?”

“Yes, they are dangerous and they need to pay for the damage they have done”.

“I can’t do this. I can’t do this anymore”.

I left the house and my mother said behind me, “Come back here. You need to stay hidden. They’ll find you”.

“Well, let them. I am not afraid”.

https://medium.com/@isarose9/list/mysteries-of-the-past-8bb8080352d6

--

--

Fun Daily Stories
A Bit of Madness

I have been writing since I was 11 in 2020. I was inspired by the beginning of the movie Onward when it came to the past of having magic and magical creatures.