Architecture and interaction design, via adaptation and hackability

Dan Hill
A chair in a room
Published in
17 min readMay 23, 2006

--

Ed. Over a decade later, I still look back at this 2006 piece, not least because many of the questions Dan Saffer asked me remain relevant, unresolved and intriguing. I’ve deployed some of the ideas sketched out here, such as the ‘Layers Strategy’, ‘Seamful Systems’ and the ‘Saarinen Principle’, numerous times since, and they continue to be foundation principles of my work — particularly as my work became more directly engaged with architecture and the built environment. Back in 2006, my interest in that world was largely just that: an interest. This piece also reflects the time it was written in, as well as my own perspectives on the world, replete with references to iPods, Fukasawa and this “new arena of interaction design”. But the advantage of looking back on your writing is in making you realise which of your touchstones are fundamental. I’m amazed how little my thoughts and references have moved on in some respects, sadly. But this was also an early attempt to outline some of the things I was drawing from elsewhere, and their continued presence in my thoughts probably only reinforces their enduring value, to me at least.

In 2005, Dan Saffer asked me to contribute some thoughts on adaptation, hackability and architecture for his book Designing for Interaction (New Riders, 2006), alongside 10 other ‘interviewees’ such as Marc Rettig, Larry Tesler, Hugh Dubberly, Brenda Laurel etc. Dan’s been posting their various responses up at the…

--

--

Dan Hill
A chair in a room

Designer, urbanist, etc. Director of Melbourne School of Design. Previously, Swedish gov, Arup, UCL IIPP, Fabrica, Helsinki Design Lab, BBC etc