What is your feminism?

Anthony Recenello
A Companion to Beautiful Army
2 min readMay 2, 2016

“I like the traditional way. At least in my mind I would prefer the man to be the caretaker and the breadwinner and the backbone of the eventual family. I think that men tend to have a more territorial personality than women do when it comes to their families and it almost seems natural for them to want to take care of their family. I don’t think its wrong for a man to be nurturing — I think thats great too. I just didn’t grow up in a household where my mom was the breadwinner and my dad stayed home, that wasn’t how it worked out. I was fortunate enough to have her stay home with me my whole life so I grew up in a very traditional type of family. I realize that the world is evolving where both parents are probably going to have to go to work. It was unique in my upbringing that I got to be home with my mom all the time but I don’t think that it necessarily hindered other people’s upbringing to not have their parents home all the time. I just think they have a different dynamic.”

I’m learning that feminism isn’t about going against the society’s traditions but rather having the ability to choose the lifestyle that allows you to be exactly who you want to be without anyone else deciding it for you. If a woman doesn’t want to grow out her armpit hair that doesn’t mean she’s not a feminist. If she wants to wear red lipstick she’s not oppressing herself. If you love the way in which you were raised and you want to continue the legacy and tradition then that is your feminism. It’s about having the right to do it the way you want to do it. I think today’s story expresses that beautifully.

A companion essay to the Beautiful Army story: http://beautiful.army/post/143712658356/i-like-the-traditional-way-at-least-in-my-mind-i

--

--