A Mood of Resistance

A Poem

Niki Madore
A Cornered Gurl
Mar 29, 2021

--

Photo by Morgan Alicia on Unsplash

I am in that mood.
Where the music might as well be on permanent skip.

My thoughts are scattered all over the floor
and I don't have the energy
to collect them.
Let them stay there until
they earn their keep.

It's that weird in-between season,
where winter doesn't know if it's leaving
and mother nature doesn't give a fuck.
She’s coated us in “protective mud”,
that at some point, I'll have to clean it off the floor too.

Today, I cannot see the joy in puddles
and the urge to garden has passed.
The rain has not come to wash us clean
and the snow bridge from one side of the ditch to other
will be here till May; a small resistance.

I am in that mood, resisting everything.

© 2021 Niki Madore

--

--

Niki Madore
A Cornered Gurl

An avid reader, poet, deep thinker, skier, and occasional skydiver. Always encouraging others to begin their journey to live authentically.