A Poem To Not “Poem”

Longings of the heart

Rumi
A Cornered Gurl
Mar 1, 2021

--

Photo by Amy Treasure on Unsplash

Some days I just want to lay supine
under the starry skies
and not conjure a poem or two.

Some days I just want to escape to the mountains
and drench myself
in the misty mornings
and not blanket myself from it.

Some days I just want to smile and cry
without the need for a reason.

Sometimes I just don’t want to get drowned
by the torrent of words of sympathy from others
but quench the feeling of emptiness by a warm hug.

Sometimes I want to fly unfettered
with the shackles of societal wishes removed from my feet.

Sometimes I just want to breathe oblivious
to the constant sound of the clock ticking.

©Rumi

--

--

Rumi
A Cornered Gurl

Fell into the "Cosmere" rabbit hole and have been staying there ever since.