Music by Sandy Knight

A World To Save

A Collaborative Song With Sandy Knight

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

--

Photo by Frank McKenna via Unsplash

*A World To Save

Your innocence is lost on us, we’re failing you.
The hearts of men have grown too tired
To light a path for you.
We can be selfish, I know we can be cruel
You remind us of peace and how love shines through.

Save the world from us, a generation speaks
Deep within this life, until our spirits meet.
We know you’re brave, don’t excuse our faults
Save the world from us, we’ve torn it apart.

I cling to your smile, the beauty that it holds
The safety in your life, the glory of your soul.
I know the depth of your voice, it makes me smile.
You’re careful with my time, if only for a while.

This broken world needs you much more than it does us,
We’ve caused it too much damage, squandered all the trust.
You see through our ways, and now you’ve got to choose,
Too smart for the adults, too strong to be moved.

Save the world from us, a generation pleads
Deep within this life, until our spirits meet.
We know you’re brave, you see our faults
Save the world from us, we’ve done our part.

It’s time we stepped aside, it’s time to hang back,
If war is in sight, we need not attack.
You’ve fought the battle, you’ve won the front,
We should learn from you, it’s what life wants.

No world should ever crumble or clutch at feeble hands,
No child should ever wonder where her future stands.
We call out to the world, let fear and hatred die.
We hear your laughter, we hear your cry.

Save the world from us, a generation speaks
Deep within this life, until our spirits meet.
We know you’re brave, you know our faults
Save the world from us, we’ve torn it apart.

I cling to your smile, the beauty that it holds
The safety in your life, the glory of your soul.
I know the depth of your voice, it makes me smile.
You’re careful with my time, if only for a while.

This broken world needs you much more than it does us,
We’ve caused it too much damage, squandered all the trust.
You see through our ways, and now you’ve got to choose,
Too smart for the adults, too strong to be moved.

Save the world from us, a generation pleads
Deep within this life, until our spirits meet.
We know you’re brave, you know our faults
Save the world from us, we’ve torn it apart.

I cling to your smile, the beauty that it holds
The safety in your life, the glory of your soul.
I know the depth of your voice, it makes me smile.
You’re careful with my time, if only for a while.

©2019 & 2020 Tremaine L. Loadholt and Sandy Knight. All Rights Reserved.

*The initial lyrics for this song came to me on a day when I was feeling extremely down. I started writing, thinking of the generations after mine — watching my little cousins grow up and experiencing their innocence. If we have a chance, the young ones are going to have to save us. Sandy was the only person I knew who would read the initial lyrics and be able to come up with the melody, the music, adlibs, and additional lyrics. I shared it with her and the masterpiece that you have listened to was born. Each time I play it, I cry. Sandy, thank you.

--

--

Tre L. Loadholt
A Cornered Gurl

I am more than breath & bones. I am nectar in waiting. “You write like a jagged, beautiful dream.” ©Martha Manning •https://acorneredgurl.com