Abyssal

Jui Chawan
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
1 min readJun 8, 2020

I stood there and stared in remoteness

The numbness surrounded me like the waves carrying away a shell in their grasp

I thought about my emotions
Dry and banal enveloped my seemingly silent consciousness

The dreary wind tried to break down my walled surface
It faltered and fell
I rose my head
Dangling over a hook
It was raised
The irises could see more

But what?

Nothingness in the vast expanse
I tried to feel
My fingertips lost their human
The eyebrow droopy
Enigma of sleep overcame
I fell

The fatal fall of clarity
Openness of senses

Seeing and smelling the rawness of misogynistic mud
The fire of patriarchy burning on the wood of bonds

The fall kept going
Differences of difference became a visible line
A thread never to break
The cry of lies
A slogan of cowardice
The manipulative step
A corrupt dream

I was falling
My toes were cold
It hit . . .

- Jui Chawan

--

--

Jui Chawan
A Cornered Gurl

Amateur poet, avid traveler, a voice against gender inequality, bibliophile in the making and owl lover!