All Hands On Board

Robert@robert_1990

Some days the very best we can do is pray
that the floor beneath our feet will not shift
before our feet’s arrival from their morning’s
departure from bed
And once upright
having fought to find the horizon
with slow, painful recall of the past night’s
last call

It will take all hands on board
courage that only last evening was found
in the bottom of a series of nameless glasses
all hands on board
praying the image in the mirror be a betterment
of what is possible not what I have become
instead
all hands on board

Every voice ever spoken
rings loudly in my head
Some voices now long having gone silent
some permanently, others having lost all hope
and or patience
leaving the faithful few
determined to make me an upstanding member
in their eternity

But I just can’t seem to help myself from
being cast out of their social fraternities
all hands on board
I am again standing on the deck
facing the oncoming storm
I can hear the echo
man overboard

And in the darkened shadow of the waves
it is my image calling out in desperation
and not even I will raise a hand to throw
me a lifeline
And all lines ring busy in the land of the divine
There’re no hands on board left to be kind.

@Anthony2020mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
A Cornered Gurl

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous