Alone

Carlos Aguilera@carlosaguilera

When I first started this
It was me
alone
Rugged days and nights coming home
alone
No one bothered then to check-in
on me to see if I had air
to breathe

There were days when the sun did not
shine on me
There was nothing in the fridge
nothing in the cupboards
and in the bank nothing but
a loan

There were the times
when only the love of the almighty
and Marley in my ears
stone for my pillow and Beres
putting up a resistance that
kept me from dying out here
alone

And still, there were those lows
when even the sanity went
leaving me with no holes into
which to vent
And with the exception of the
endless loneliness
it was just me
alone

Now the sun comes peeping over that
horizon and all the hands come
busting out from their graves trying
to ghost me
I suddenly find — I am the child of
fathers decades younger than me
And even when the truth is plain to see
still they keep on coming with
their newest ghost plans

Caps in hand
and this girl cries out
where are those days of me
alone with my
loneliness to once again
set me free
But so many have eyes still
they do not see
They do not see that same determination
getting me here
will ensure that all you ghosters
will stay right there

Now I sit quietly by the side
reading the holy book of
what could have been
Nowhere does it show me
where any of the things I’ve done
or the few things I let slide on by
was a sin

It does show me exactly without
you all
I can still stand tall
And I am counting my lucky stars
for the few that laid down their
confidence in me
Making sure on many a cold,
cold night, I was not
alone

To you, I now leave everything
I now own.
I’m out.

@Anthony2020mdh30Vibes

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
A Cornered Gurl

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous