Amphitrite

The diary of a modern-day’s goddess of the sea

Willow T. Lovelace
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readApr 24, 2020

--

Photo Source

You and I,
Like Amphitrite and Atlas.
The closer we are,
The more we become adrift.

You are near,
Wrapping your arms around me.
In the eyes of earth,
An immense distance between us.

From afar,
You are tenderly touching me.
For those who gaze us from the ashore,
Along the celestial horizon.

My days and nights,
Myself I make.
I row a thousand miles,
hoping to meet my majesty.

My tears as rain
Are all that I embrace.
In my secret diary,
It may not be a history.

You and I,
Like Amphitrite and Atlas.
Dropping my hope,
Will it be a mystery within a mystery?

--

--

Willow T. Lovelace
A Cornered Gurl

Polonius: What do you read, my lord? Hamlet: Words, words, words. (Hamlet 2.2.200–201)