Blinders

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readMay 26, 2023

--

Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash

Most days I have to put my blinders on
to protect my eyes from the subterfuge
raining down on me like cats and dogs
all day long, every day of the year
as everyone and everything tries to sell me
on something that I allegedly don’t have

Most days I have to put my blinders on
to focus on the things that matter to me
and sometimes even that is confusing
because the algorithms really think
that I am interested in one shirt brand
and I am routinely horrified by that suggestion

Most days I have to put my blinders on
so that I can see behind what is in front of me
to realize that the view is neverending
and whatever I am seeing that irks me
is just the foreground of something
that is wholly exceptional as a landscape

Most days I have to put my blinders on
because writing has become pitching
and it’s harder to determine the difference
between a creative soul and an automaton
but if I look long enough, hard enough
the real words always shine through

© Jonathan Greene 2023

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com