Bottomless

A Poem

Taylor Haught
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readFeb 26, 2021

--

Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

I am a seething orange flame
a ball of trembling rage
coerced into a cage
of my own doing.

My energy bubbles and boils
my skin crawls and coils
I stuff her deep inside
this voice that screams at me —
there must be more than this.

She tires from trying to surface
and take the breath from me
uproot my mediocre life.

It’s okay
I am happy with this life, yes?

They tell me I should be gracious
but I’m tired of being complacent
and patient.

One day I will emerge so mighty
that I obliterate everything I’ve built
It’s true
I am afraid of how much power I contain
but this is no state in which to remain.

I am the wind and the mountains
and waterfalls
I am earth
I am everything
bigger than everything.

I am an earthquake
no longer asleep
but awake.

Abundant
free flowing
bottomless.

--

--

Taylor Haught
A Cornered Gurl

Freelance writer, poet, filmmaker, digital nomad, and health enthusiast.