Broken Verses

A collaborative effort between Nour and Subo

Subo
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readJan 3, 2020

--

Pinterest

Misunderstood.

Verses
but silent daggers
to tear the little soul.

i don’t care what others think
says the naive mind
yet heart scarred
by the echoes of your vicious words.

a little too perfect.
a little too broken.

Dangling puppets
thread to Unfathomed Expectations.

Ceased of sanity’s shelter,
left prey
in Misery’s hunting grounds.

Walking on shattered glass,
moulded to be the apple of every eye,
one too many times.

Pride holds the head high,
for no words
can yield the price
of my burdened broken soul.

i just don’t know.
not anymore.

Misunderstood.
Thrust thy hate into my skin
Call ’em compliments,
constructive criticism
Scarlet trails disclose your lies.

Syllables
Upon syllables
Undress me bit by bit.

Drive me to my cell.

A prisoner in her own head.

A little too perfect.
A little too undone.

Beaten blue
seeps through your smiles
Into my skin
Bruising words distort my being.

From the aftermath
Four walls straining my freedom.

A captive of
thy tormenting words.

Misunderstood so break her more.

i can’t dodge your bullets
Not anymore.

Subo’s Note- I honestly cannot thank Nour enough for being willing to collaborate with me. No one could have stolen the 5-year-old glee I bore when she responded to my mail. She is the most amazing, most humble, super talented and sweetest person that I was a little too lucky to work with ❤. Her verses are of absolute rawness, beauty and perfectly flawed that every single soul who reads them can feel those words.

Here are a few of her must read’s-

Special thanks to Tre for being the best and kindest human being in the world. Neither of us would be here without you.

--

--

Subo
A Cornered Gurl

student who hopes to share wittily humorous poems, anecdotes, and ideas about navigating adulthood