Brown, it’s in Today

Quick! Hurry before it isn’t!

Marleena
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readSep 6, 2019

--

*Please read in the brassiest Yankee accent of your choice for best impact*

Photo by Clarke Sanders on Unsplash

Hey Ma!
Brown is in today!
I saw it on the news

They’re getting awards
Ooo girl, they got the panels,
look at those colors
It’s in today.

They’re building that girl up
instead of dragging her down,
fluffing her hair, instead of cutting it off
they’re letting him speak, and giving him space.

Child, brown is in today.
That’s the fourth movie I seen in the hood,
Is that a little black girl as a lead?
I think I see someone in politics,
let’s see how long it lasts.

Ma! Brown is in today,
but that girl is still wearing dark foundation, that does not belong to her . . .
and that man is still falsely accused . . . he never got to explain himself . . .
that woman can’t walk into work natural, because her hair is unprofessional . . .
a thigh gap “isn’t genetic” and “You’ll never look like the rest of them”
Her braids are ghetto, but her braids are fashion.

That’s okay, hey, chin up girlfriend.
Maybe brown will be in tomorrow.

Marleena here. This is one of my most simple ideas, but I wanted to get it out there. I write about anything from Howard Dean to the science of stomach aches, Stick around, and follow me on Twitter.

--

--

Marleena
A Cornered Gurl

Visit for the lifestyle and travel content, stay for the personalization. find me @marleenawrites on social.