Complicated

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readDec 21, 2020

--

Photo by Lysander Yuen on Unsplash

The reason I am so complicated
is because you want me to be
so simple

My complication is a byproduct
of what you want me to be

But nothing about the makeup
of a human being
is simple or easy

We are blood, cells, water, skin
pulsating emotions and hot flashes
moving beings against gravity
and you think that understanding me
should be
easy

But I don’t want to be easy
or simple or something to take for granted
because you think you can read me

I’d rather be this endless maze
a logic problem inside a Rubik’s Cube
a deep thought inside of an allegory
so you can peel my onion
and watch me cry

The reason I am so complicated
is because it’s protection
a suit of armor
with the perfect amount of patina
from being out in the snow and rain
and being weathered by the world
and death and loss and grief
so I just look out of the eye holes
of my helmet and into your confusion
and resign myself
to sleeping in this suit
so I don’t have to explain myself
again

© Jonathan Greene 2020

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com