Coping

Kern Carter
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
Dec 21, 2020
Photo by Igor Miske

It frightens me how easily I can find pain.

How easily I can suck it up through my nostrils, hold it, feel it, then slowly let it dissolve deep into my bones where I forget it exists.

That makes me strong. Strong for you. And you.

Any acknowledgment is a betrayal.

I’m built to withstand 3 am phone calls with friends crying on the other line.

They depend on this strength.

I depend on their needs.

How is it possible that nothing is ever wrong with me?

No relationship too precious.

No rejection too personal.

No vision too absurd.

I don’t even know how to feel anymore. Except guilt, beside frustration, next to fear.

When I was ten you told me it would never be enough.

Now here we are.

--

--

Kern Carter
A Cornered Gurl

Author, Writer, and Community Builder | I help writers feel like SUPERSTARS | kerncarter.com |