Dated Travel . . .

Imminent home

Annette McGee
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readJul 13, 2020

--

Photo credit: Leighann Blackwood via Unsplash

When did I?
forget my ancestral sovereignty
so busy with assimilation
attempting to be
like everyone else

when did I?
choose to sell my soul
for your favor and in return
receive nothing

when did I?
overlook my strength and became scared
pandering to all
who would watch me
naked with hungry eyes?

how did I?
forget your opinion is null
because I now remember; I am my home
built on a foundation
stronger than you will ever know

Photo credit: Guilherme Stecanella via Unsplash

💃© 2020 afm/monkeyhousepoetry

  • *songVibe: “Don’t Touch My Hair” by Solange feat. Sampha

--

--

Annette McGee
A Cornered Gurl

An advocate to encourage. A gurl sharing thoughts in a quest to LiveBrave. Prone to the gratuitous reference to movies, music, and comics. Go!