Photo by ActionVance on Unsplash

Edges

A poem about losing and reclaiming them

Ruth Osman
Published in
1 min readMar 12, 2021

--

Why she hadda be loud so?
Sharp so?
All clavicles and cheekbones
retorts and teeth
blackstrap molasses on the back of the tongue
refusing to go down
a splinter of bone lodged in the throat?

My edges
sanded to sanctimonious smoothness
guilted with Wednesday's ashes
shrivel and shrink as she passes
paper held to flame.

I see you, sister.
I want to be you, sister.

My father claps our roti
oiled hands gleaming
then divides steaming hills
of rice and dhal
with knife and fork
so I could learn the 'proper way'.
Self-mutilation
with a serving of table talk.

I see you, sister.
I want to be you, sister

The bedroom door creaks
captures me in a sliver of light
a fly trapped in amber.
Sweaty palms
trembling thighs.
I wonder why
but my body knows.

I see you, sister.
I want to be you, sister.

“Why are you always so angry?"
A lover pries.
I cross my legs
smile
cloak the glint of steel
behind my eyes.

I see you, sister.
I want to be you, sister.

--

--

Ruth Osman
A Cornered Gurl

Caribbean singer/songwriter/ poet who loves dogs, all things mystical, and solitude. Find me online: https://linktr.ee/ruthosman