Escape Velocity

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readJul 17, 2020

--

Photo by The New York Public Library on Unsplash

I want to break free
of this gravitational pull
that holds me to this Earth
and this way of being
with all the storms around me
and the undulations of the masses
leaving me quixotic and fainty
because this mess is a lot to take
and I’d rather escape at top speed
without further propulsion
and ascend to someplace greater

I want to escape with velocity
and pomposity and curiosity
to discover something better
than this pile of the past
we keep standing on
thinking it will change
An unforgotten memory
of misplaced hope and trust
that could all disappear in
the absence of friction resistance
leaving me alone and cold
but free, no longer on the run

© Jonathan Greene 2020

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com