fault-lines

our foundation is strong

Deb Ewing
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readAug 21, 2020

--

nightshadow, photo by debora Ewing

catlike I lay
my mouse at your feet:
this sonnet I wrote, sock I knitted
this song I learned to play
are you not impressed?

does it unnerve you, perhaps
to learn something new about one
you thought you knew so well
for just the briefest did you feel
a foundation shaken — could you tell?

when did you lock and shutter
my identity along with the patio
giving no notice of my chance to flee
do you fear I’ll escape someplace safe
am I mother? Shall I pour tea?

do you measure my love
on the Richter scale
reading your worth as a man
I tell you I don’t fear unstable ground
but stand here willingly

should the earth crack
between you and me
I’ll broach precipice for your hand
bring you another mouse taken down
and no fault-line shall prevail.

--

--

Deb Ewing
A Cornered Gurl

I am a U.S. writer, artist, and oracle. I drop my wisdom like a crystal bowl at your feet. See my art at: https://www.americanframe.com/artist/debora-ewing.aspx