Forecast

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl
1 min readJun 29, 2020

--

I don’t need a weatherperson to tell me
that the sky is falling and that the rain
is really the wrung eye rags of children
who are confused as to what the future holds

The forecast is gloomy, overcast like my heart
I want to hold up an umbrella to the sky
but the rain that’s pouring is way too heavy
So there I am, like you, overturned

Cloudy is my personal disposition anyway
so seeing them hold the sky up is solace to me
But I know that others need the sun
which makes it difficult when it is hiding

The forecast is sour, it just doesn’t taste right
and it takes me back and makes me reconsider
why I trusted it in the first place, the future,
when the future is just a product of us

Us, we, are torn beyond repair
but with that said, it’s not hopeless
For even the world can be mended
if the sewing kit is big enough

© Jonathan Greene 2020

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
A Cornered Gurl

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com