I Am Sorry

“Path to Redemption”

Ngang God'swill N.
A Cornered Gurl
2 min readMar 1, 2019

--

I said, “I am sorry”,
the grim three
that belittle and shackle
like slaver’s might;
prison for the weak,
or so I thought.

The three were truest
and peeled off my heart,
like a nail off of a finger
with pain blinding and pure;
deeper still than evil’s reach
yet cleaner than snow.

They crawled up my throat
with daggers and claws,
tearing and shredding;
pulling out the weeds
like a dutiful yardman,
meticulous and diligent.

Words squabble about,
escaping the first spot
and the last too;
poor tongue broke,
forcing a shameful stutter
like a poor performer.

My pride wailed in agony,
pleadingly in despair,
asking for an end
to the pain and shame;
pain that seized control,
reducing his evil grip.

My high horse toppled
straight off the pedestal
down to the earth,
and so I walked;
afraid and vulnerable
like a dethroned king.

Yet my heart was free,
lighter than air
and breathing again;
like a brand-new engine
stripped of non-essentials,
beating true again.

Now I know the secret;
the fountain of love
that builds bonds anew,
love that heals
with passion to sustain
another reason to forgive.

I said, “I am sorry”;
knew relief without measure
and peace in my soul
rhyming with heart’s dance,
felt better still though
as I heart, “you are forgiven”

“Sometimes, it is very difficult to apologize to accept the fault. And we always have our reasons that appear proper and faultless to us, we feel like we deserve to be apologized to instead. Others are just not the apologizing type, they believe things will just work out. Sometimes they do and at other times, they do not, so they cut their losses and move on. Whatever the case may be, it is important to apologize when you go wrong or just to keep the peace. Because people hurt when we don’t, relationships are strained, but apologizing starts the healing process. And that is not the sweetest part. Apologizing is more to your benefit than the other person’s. It frees your heart and soul from burden, and you are guilt free. Because apologizing is an attempt and the first step to making things right”.

More From Me.

--

--

Ngang God'swill N.
A Cornered Gurl

Writer, editor, Singer. I believe Art is fruit of a genius mind."