I imagine a world

Srinath
A Cornered Gurl
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2020

I imagine a world where people actually thought more than they talked.
I imagine a world where people actually felt more than they expressed.
I imagine a world where people actually cared more than they bothered.

I imagine a world in which we lived by will and not force.
I imagine a world where the good always triumphed evil.
I imagine a world where the marginalised and the deserving have an equal say as the mighty and the entitled.

I imagine a world where compassion is more than mere condescendence.
I imagine a world where love is more than mere obligation.
I imagine a world where life is more than mere show.

I imagine a world where our character is not judged by the choices we make, or by the God we pray to or by the sex of the person we love.
I imagine a world where people are not labelled or boxed into categories.
I imagine a world where one’s identity may be undefined, fluid, dynamic, and limitless.

I imagine a world where people mind their own business and yet, go out of the way to help when needed.
I imagine a world where beauty is respected and celebrated in its true form.
I imagine a world where the sublime truth is disseminated without fear and censorship.

And lastly, I imagine a world where people’s positive imagination may be realised into reality and not stay imaginary.

Note:- This was inspired by the “I have a dream” speech by Martin Luther King, the song “Imagine” by John Lennon, and a poem titled “Where the mind is without fear” from Gitanjali by Rabindranath Tagore.

Thanks for dropping by.

--

--

Srinath
A Cornered Gurl

Tired of a normal life. Afraid of a different one. I’ve taken refuge in Poetry and dreams. Aspiring Aspirer.